Outcomes Pecha Kucha

I only recently heard about ‘pecha kucha‘, but I must say that I’m intrigued by the concept. For the uninitiated (including me), pecha kucha is a simple presentation format that follows the ’20X20’ principle: 20 slides/images, 20 seconds a piece, automatically advanced. That gives you a total presentation time of…um…6 minutes and 40 seconds? Something like that. Basically, the goal is to force presenters to strip down their presentations to its core essence and cut out the endless blabbing. Count me in!

So I started thinking, how could pecha kucha be used at the Alliance for CME’s Annual Conference? This is a conference that, in my opinion, has too many sessions, too many presenters, and too much presentation time. I also started thinking about the constant dialogue over the need for more in the CME community to be sharing their outcomes studies. And that’s when I hit on it:

Outcomes Pecha Kucha!

Do we really need an hour to discuss an outcomes study? Do we even need a half-hour? With Outcomes Pecha Kucha, you could have 5 or 6 of these outcomes presentations in an hour and still have time for questions. People might be more willing to share given the shorter time frame and the more festive atmosphere created by the fast-paced format.

In fact, I’m so confident Outcomes Pecha Kucha will be a hit, I propose placing it in the conference dead zone: Friday night after dinner. And to give it a little extra zing, I also suggest incorporating another idea to which I’ve devoted much thought and energy. Ladies and gentlemen, I give you…The Moore’s Levels of Outcomes Drinking Game! (copyright pending)

That’s right, grab a favorite beverage of your choice, head over to Outcomes Pecha Kucha and play the game that’s soon to be sweeping the (CME) nation! All you have to do is listen to each of the presentations and follow these simple rules:

  • Someone says “Moore’s Levels of Outcomes” (no picture of pyramid): Drink!
  • Someone says “Moore’s Levels of Outcomes” (with picture of pyramid): CHUG!
  • Someone shows data for the following measures:
    • Level 1 Participation: 1 sip
    • Level 2 Satisfaction: 2 sips
    • Level 3 Knowledge (Declarative/Procedural):
      3 sips
    • Level 4 Competence: 4 sips
    • Level 5 Performance: 5 sips
    • Level 6 Patient Health: 6 sips
    • Level 7 Community Health: CHUG!
  • Levels 4-7 have objective data: Drink!
  • Someone uses pre-2009 Levels of Outcomes: Don’t drink. Murmur disapprovingly amongst yourselves.
  • Someone says, “I know the data on this slide are hard to see.”: Drink!
  • Someone says “data” as singular instead of plural: Drink!

There’s much more that can be added, but let’s not get too carried away to start with. The way I see it: Outcomes Pecha Kucha + The Moore’s Levels of Outcomes Drinking Game = conference gold.

So, who’s in?

5 responses to “Outcomes Pecha Kucha

  1. These two are my favorite:

    Someone uses pre-2009 Levels of Outcomes: Don’t drink. Murmur disapprovingly amongst yourselves.
    Someone says, “I know the data on this slide are hard to see.”: Drink!

    Well done, sir.

  2. Pingback: CME: Got game? | Capsules

  3. How did I miss this the first time around? Love the tongue-in-cheek, and it’s applicable to almost all presentations, especially “I know the data on this slide are hard to see”. Makes my ears ring!

  4. Pingback: A Few Tips On Attending The Alliance Conference | Confessions of a Medical Educator

  5. Pingback: Top 10 Reasons to Watch CMEpalooza Spring on April 8 | CMEPALOOZA

Leave a comment