Who Wants To Hire A CME Director?

So…I’ve had an interesting week. It’s not everyday that you show up at your job, as normal as any other normal work day, and end up driving home at noon with a storage box full of your stuff in the trunk. It’s a bit of a shock to the system. (And to be clear:  Officially, my position was eliminated. I was not fired or anything juicy like that.) It’s disappointing, but I would by lying  if I said I’m not fascinated to see how this job search process goes with the tools and skills I’ve learned through my involvement in social media the past few years. I’m actually kind of looking forward to it – a fresh start and…and…

<sigh>

Oh, who am I kidding? I’m incredibly frustrated right now. I can put on my optimistic face (which is my nature) and sugarcoat it as much as I want, but none of that changes the fact that right now: this stinks.

Am I going to be OK? Of course I am.

Why?

Because I’m good at what I do and I enjoy it.
I work hard.
I fear complacency.
I’m always on the lookout for my next challenge.
I refuse to do things just because that’s the way they’ve always been done.
I try to make things better.
I try to make things easier.
I don’t always succeed…but I often do.
I’m easy to get along with.
I’m empathetic.
I bring people together.
I love learning new things.
I learn quickly.
I won’t make you change if you don’t want to, but…
I’m very convincing.
I like fooling around with gadgets.
I like experimenting with social media platforms.
I like thinking about how gadgets and social media can make CME better.

I embrace problems…and fix them.

What’s my CME story? Here it is.
What are my qualifications? Here they are. (FYI: this is an interactive, multimedia resume that I put together which I think is kind of cool. But then…I’m a little biased.)

I will make your organization better.

And that’s it. That’s all I’ve got. I’m using all the resources I have at my disposal to find a job, but you won’t see anymore posts from me about my employment status on this blog. That’s not the intent or purpose of it, and I don’t want it to be.

We now return you to your regularly scheduled Confessions of a Medical Educator blog posts.

One response to “Who Wants To Hire A CME Director?

  1. Love this Derek! Although I wish you didn’t have to write it for obvious reasons. Miss ya!

Leave a comment