A Tribute To Those I Admire

I admire those who:

Are not content with the status quo.
Constantly strive to be unique.
Embrace innovation.
Are not afraid to try something new.
Try it, even if they are afraid.
Try, fail, and try again.
Are consistent in their friendship.
Take you to lunch, regardless of your employer.
Respect you beyond your business card.
Do not look at your hardship as their gain.
Do not try to benefit from your mistakes.
Do not profit from the misery of others.
Talk to you directly, rather than tattletale.
Are open, honest, and true.

I do not admire those who:

Are not.
Do not.
Can not.
Will not.

10 responses to “A Tribute To Those I Admire

  1. Amen! Well said, as always, Derek.

  2. Agreed. 100%.

  3. So simple and so true! Great post Derek!!

  4. That is why YOU are held in such high regard.

  5. Words to live by!

  6. Thank you all for your very kind and gracious comments. I do try to live my life with these concepts as a guide – sometimes more successfully than others. This is how I was raised and this is how I see the world. I know no other way…

  7. You are among those I admire, and I have similar standards. Nicely put.

  8. Wonder how many folks have gone back to re-read this, imported it into WORD or other desktop publishing software, made it pretty and posted it in their office/cubicle. Thanks, Derek…..you da man!

Leave a Reply

