Social Media and the CME Professional

Next Tuesday, October 23, at 3 PM ET,  Dr. Alex Djuricich and I will be part of  a Medical Meetings webinar titled Social Media and the Medical Meetings Professional, moderated by Sue Pelletier. Here’s the little ad about our webinar, complete with head shots (side note: that pic is about as good as it gets for me, folks. There’s a reason I normally use the distant shot of me in the boat…) and if you want to register (it’s FREE!), you can do that here.

My presentation is going to focus on how CME professionals can use social media to further their own professional development. I’m not planning to berate anyone on why they should invest their time in social media or talk about how social media can be used in CME programs. My plan is to take participants through a variety of social media platforms and show specifically what resources are available that the members of the CME community can add to their own personal learning network. I’ll be touching on LinkedIn, Twitter, Facebook, blogs, Google+, YouTube, SlideShare, and Pinterest. Certainly, some of these platforms have more resources available to the CME community than others, but they all have something to offer. I use each one of them in some capacity for my own professional development – yes, even Pinterest (Upon hearing that I have a Pinterest account, my 15-year-old niece asked me “Isn’t that for girls?” Sheesh…) – and I’ll be demo-ing some of those uses during the webinar.

I’m really looking forward to Alex’s presentation, which will be covering social media from the angle of…OK, you’re out there using it, here are a few things you need to be aware of, be cautious of, and how to develop your own social media policy. It’s important info to know, even for the most casual SoMe user.

So, I hope some of you can join us and ask a bunch of questions. We’re going to be using the #SoMeCME hashtag if you want to send out a few tweets during the webinar. I thought about trying to tweet at the same time I was presenting (I think I could do it!), but then thought better of it. My fellow CME and social media advocate (and friend), Brian McGowan, has graciously agreed to send out a few tweets on my behalf during the webinar. Any links you see during my part of the presentation will also be tweeted out by Brian, so be sure to check out #SoMeCME for them. If you have any other questions about the webinar, feel free to comment below or contact me via any of these methods. I hope you enjoy it and…maybe even learn something.

5 responses to “Social Media and the CME Professional

  1. I’m going to be in Ireland next week (POOR ME!!) and will miss this Webinar. Will it be archived?? Really hate to miss it….

    • I’m pretty sure they have the internet in Ireland – you can still watch! 🙂

      Yes- my understanding is that the webinar will be archived for a year on Medical Meetings website. I’ll post the link when it’s up.

  2. I’m in but I expect a shoutout.

  3. Jan, it will be archived for on-demand viewing for a year, like Derek said. But I hope you can join us live from Ireland anyway!

Leave a Reply

