When I’m King of CME…

When I’m King of CME…

There will be less regulation on the CME community and more accountability. How am I going to do that? Well…

When I’m King of CME…

There will be no Standards for Commercial Support. That’s right, none. Zilch. Zero. Nada. Want to discuss the content of your monograph with a representative from XYZ Pharma? Fine. Want to fly attendees to a tropical resort for your conference? Save a pina colada for me. “It’ll be chaos!” you yell. “You’re setting back continuing medical education 30 years!” you sob. “Nope,” says I, because…

When I’m King of CME…

All your files will be open access. Oh yeah. Planning documents, emails, budgets, evaluation results – all of it, open for all to see. You’ll need to ask yourself how you would feel if Senator Grassley’s minions decided to peruse your files or ProPublica or the New York Times or your friendly neighborhood CME blogger (editor’s note: Hi!). If you don’t want to read about it over your morning breakfast burrito, then I would advise you not to do it. This king believes in the glory of a day at the beach, the majesty of a strong microbrew, and the power of self-regulation. Plus, I’m King of CME – I’ll do as I please. Which reminds me…

When I’m King of CME…

Levels of Outcomes – whomever’s they might be – will be banned from the CME kingdom. (I can hear the strangulated cries of horror from here). I don’t have any particular issue with outcome levels, but I do feel we get a little caught up in the specifics of them. Am I addressing knowledge or competence? What is competence? Is it practice or performance or performance in practice? Which kind of knowledge am I targeting? Does anyone care about satisfaction? When it comes right down to it, doesn’t all of continuing education for healthcare professionals have the same goal in mind: to educate HCP’s so they can provide better patient care? I’m banning Levels of Outcomes because…

When I’m King of CME…

I will only care about one outcome: improving patient care. That’s it. If you’re webinar receives a bias rating of “So biased they might as well just hand out free samples with the syllabus”, but you can show me how it directly improved patient care – you will hear no complaints from your king. But, should I read about your exploits in a little expose in the Wall Street Journal, and you give me evaluation results that talk about the room being too cold or the lemon-pepper chicken being too tough, well…my wrath will be vast and my vengeance will be swift.

My plans for my CME kingdom are far too great to fit into one reasonably lengthed  blog post, so I will end with this:

When I’m King of CME…

I will adopt Content as my heir, fall upon my sword, and make Content king. The King is dead. Long live the King!

10 responses to “When I’m King of CME…

  1. No outcomes levels!?! Outrage! Blasphemy!!

  2. Without the Standards for Commercial Support, I have no more abstracts. Sad face.

    • Yes, there will be casualties along the way. Being king means making the tough decisions. It’s not a popularity contest (or is it? I forget how monarchies work. Maybe someone from the UK can weigh in…)

  3. And what will the punishments be? Will they be like the public stockades of ye olde days? Cause I’ve got some old tomatoes just perfect for pelting someone with…

  4. ounds like growing up. As a kid you were certified and validated by your parents. When you grow up you get evaluated by everyone. The difference today being that ”everyone” or public opinion has a lot more power and resources to dig into and expose your evaluation process. Making CME walk around naked makes the process even easier and more open than just making them lift their kimonos to one or two inspectors / parents / governing bodies.

    • Loved your analogy…until you used “CME” and “naked” in the same sentence! That led to mental images I can never undo and now I need to go lie down with a cold compress on my head…

Leave a Reply

