My Social Weight Loss Experiment

Two years ago, I was chopped down in the prime of my life by a harrowing case of…pink eye (ok, it wasn’t very harrowing. There’s no way of making pink eye sound very manly). And  for the first time in…oh…5 years or so, I went to the doctor where I weighed in at 238 lbs and, not surprisingly, had high blood pressure. My physician (whom I was meeting for the first time) was ready to put me on medication to lower it (my BP, not my weight). I refused. At 37-years old, there was no way I was going to go on BP meds without at least trying to do something else about it first. So, I lost 30 lbs in about 6 months (weighed-in at 208) and dropped a full pants size – almost two. Blood pressure dropped, too.

What miracle diet plan did I use? It’s pretty rare, you might not have heard of it before. It’s called: “Daily Exercise and a Healthy Diet”. Crazy, no?

I’ve done a fairly good job keeping the weight off the past two years, but it’s starting to creep up. This is what I weighed in at on Monday morning (after spending my Easter holiday eating way too much ham loaf):

And for those of you who don’t know what ham loaf is, think meatloaf, but with ham. It’s delicious.

Back when I started my weight loss plan, I had a goal of seeing “200” on the scale, but once I reached the “30 pounds lost” mark, my motivation sort of petered out. This January, I’m going to be…(heaven help me!)…40. I still want to see that “200” on my scale, but I’m going to need some extra help and motivation to reach it. So…I’m going to try a little experiment. Instead of hiring a personal trainer, I’m going to let the social media community I’ve developed be my trainer. The question is, can social media provide the motivation I need to reach my target weight by my 40th birthday?

This is my plan: every morning, I wake up between 6:00 – 6:30 AM. On my way downstairs to make coffee, I will stop by the bathroom scale and take an Instagram (see above) of my weight, which I will tweet out and post to my personal facebook page. I will also be posting my exercise regimen for the day once it has been completed, also by Instagram. This was my picture after riding my exercise bike last night:

For now, I’m going to avoid updating everyone on my food consumption. I’m probably providing too much info already.

My hope is that my daily check-ins will will provide me the motivation for consistency in my exercise and eating patterns, which I have been lacking lately. I’m also hoping that if enough people get used to seeing these on a regular basis, they’ll feel comfortable calling me out if I miss one or start slacking off. Between facebook and twitter, I have about 500 unique followers who will be observing my progress. That should provide me some kind of motivation!

Here goes nothing. 217.6 lbs to go!

2 responses to “My Social Weight Loss Experiment

  1. I think that is a great idea! How are you doing so far?

    I know you probably know this, but make sure you get your water in 🙂

    • One week in and it’s going pretty well. My weight fluctuates up and down so much in the course of a week that it’s a little hard to tell. But, the social aspect of it has been a great motivator! I was much more consistent in my exercising and definitely had that little voice in my head telling me, “you need to exercise or everyone is going to wonder what happened!”

Leave a Reply

