Confessions Of A Medical Educator Celebrates One Year Of Blogging!

As of this week, I have officially been blogging at Confessions of a Medical Educator for one year. I never in my wildest dreams imagined it, or I, would last this long. I started it on a lark, had no idea if anyone would read it, and never stopped. Actually, that’s not quite true. I did stop. Twice. Neither time lasted more than a day or two. I don’t know how other bloggers feel, but for me, it does take a decent amount of effort to maintain. There’s been a number of times I’ve thought to myself “Why am I doing this? Is anyone reading it? Would anyone care if I just stopped?”. But the majority of responses to the blog have been overwhelmingly positive, which truly makes all the effort seem worthwhile. And to be honest…I like doing it. I like to think that I bring a little bit of irreverence and humor to an industry that, in my own opinion, sorely needs it. Basically, I do things that amuse me and hope that they amuse others, too.

There’s a certain amount of risk in blogging and I have definitely had things I’ve written come back to bite me. I’ve had someone complain to the CEO of my parent company about something I’ve written. I’ve almost lost grant support for an activity because of something I’ve written. Every single time I click the “Publish” button on a new blog post, I wonder, “Am I going to piss anyone off with this one?” I’m thinking it right now. It’s not easy to put words to paper and put it in a forum for all to see and judge, but it’s a risk I’ve learned to accept as part of the blogging process. For me, it is part of the learning process. I’ll make more mistakes in the future and I’ll learn from them, too.

When I went to the AMA Task Force and the Alliance for CEHP conferences, I was blown away by the response and recognition I got from the blog. Even now, I’m still a little stunned when someone tells me, “I really enjoy reading your blog.” It makes my day every time. I am truly honored and humbled by those of you who take a little time out of your day to read the things I write. As long as you keep reading them, I’ll keep writing them.

8 responses to “Confessions Of A Medical Educator Celebrates One Year Of Blogging!

  1. Congratulations, Derek! I thoroughly enjoy your sense of humor and insightful observations. It’s ok to take a “vacation” once in awhile, but please don’t stop. Happy Blogging!

  2. Happy anniversary! My little brain lights up with glee every time I see a new post of yours pop up in my RSS reader–always fun to read, almost always makes me think about things in a different way. You are a CME blogging rock star!

    • Thank you, Sue, and thanks for being such a huge advocate of the blog. Maybe we can convince a few more to join us in the rock star world of CME blogging! 🙂

  3. Congrats on your 1-year anniversary. I’m more informed, more self-reflective, and take myself less seriously because of your blog–all great things. If you keep writing, I’ll keep reading.

  4. Thanks, Derek! Of all the things you listed, I think seeing “take myself less seriously” was my favorite. Thanks for reading and for all your comments!

  5. Mazel tov, Derek! I’ve shared a few of your insights with my boss, and I think he might be a “secret” reader now. Glad to see you’re not stopping anytime soon!

Leave a Reply

