I Believe in CME

I believe in CME.
I believe the world of CME is a fascinating one.
I believe the goal of most CME is to increase knowledge, improve competence, change performance, and ultimately impact patient care.
I believe there are many people in the CME community who agree with me.
I believe there are people outside the CME community who don’t.
I believe we are on the path to showing more outcomes results that prove we are right.
I believe this has taken us far too long to do.
I believe CME is not the mouthpiece of the pharmaceutical industry.
I believe that medical education companies are not the devil.
I believe I’m sick and tired of reading that it is and they are.
I believe that this is why I started this blog.
I believe it is harder, but more enjoyable, than I imagined.
I believe in the value of social media.
I believe in the value of continuing professional development.
I believe that twitter has become my main source of CPD.
I believe in encouraging others to give social media a try.
I believe in understanding when they resist.
I believe in celebrating successes.
I believe in supporting during challenges.
I believe in positive reinforcement.
I believe in humbleness over condescension.
I believe in the power of the written word.
I believe we sometimes forget the power of those words.
I believe in leading by example.
I believe in being honest.
I believe honesty can be painful.
I believe that painful honesty is sometimes best displayed in a private forum.
I believe most people want to do good.
I believe there are always a few bad apples.
I believe we should not let the bad apples serve as an example of the norm.
I believe this has happened with CME.
I believe I’m surprised at the vitriol and skepticism aimed at an industry whose main goal is to help people.
I believe I shouldn’t be surprised by this.
I believe the reason lies in the past.
I believe we are paying for it in the present.
I believe we will beat it in the future.
I believe in CME.

2 responses to “I Believe in CME

  1. Well said.

  2. Perfection is not attainable, but if we chase perfection we can catch excellence. Vince Lombardi

    I believe in CME too! CME is not demonstration of perfection, but demonstration of excellence in supporting physicians and patients in improving QOL and overall health outcomes. No one entity can change population health – it takes multiple events, related and unrealted, resulting in a chain reaction of improvment in expertise and ultimately better patient outcomes. CMECoach (KT)

Leave a Reply

