CMEpalooza: It’s On!

Well…here goes nothing.

If you forget or don’t remember my CMEpalooza idea, you can read my blog post about it here. Enough people expressed an interest in presenting and/or participating that I decided to look into it a little more and see if it really would be possible to do. The conclusion I reached was -yeah…I think it is possible. It’s not going to be perfect. There will probably be glitches. But, considering it’s not going to cost anybody anything – other than an investment of time – I think it’s worth giving it a shot.

I’m looking at this as a pilot project and want to keep it pretty low-key and informal. There’s not going to be any kind of committee or panel to judge abstracts or anything like that. It’s just me and I won’t be judging anything.

I put together a quick website at http://cmepalooza.wordpress.com/. If you want to do a presentation, go to the Presenters page and read the instructions and complete the online form. The date for the…er…palooza…is March 20, which I picked because there didn’t seem to be any other CME conferences going on that month (at least, not that I’m aware of). If you want to present, you are going to need a Google+ account, which is very easy to do, and I’m happy to help anyone who has trouble. I’ll definitely do a Hangout trial run with all the presenters (not at the same time!) so you can see what it’s like before the actual day of the conference. 

If you want to participate but not present, you can take a look at the Participants page to see how it will work and also check out the Agenda page for presenter updates. Many thanks to Brandee Plott for being the first presenter to sign up!

To be honest, I have absolutely no idea what to expect with this. I have no clue how many people will sign up to present and not the foggiest idea how many will tune in to watch live. All of the presentations will be archived on YouTube and then eventually on the CMEpalooza website. My gut instinct says that there will be more interest in the archived presentations than the live ones, but I really don’t know. This is new territory for me.

If you have any questions at all, please feel free to comment below or email me. I’m really looking forward to seeing how this all works out!

2 responses to “CMEpalooza: It’s On!

  1. Sounds like a great idea, assuming there won’t be any website glitches ;-)

Leave a Reply

