Social Media Resources For The CME Community

Every once in a while I find out about a cool new tool and immediately need to try it out. Such was the case when I saw Screenr in action for the first time today (granted, I have no idea if it’s a new tool or not. Maybe it’s been around for years, I have no idea.) Screenr is a web-based screen recorder and incredibly easy to use. Seriously, it only took me about 15 minutes to go from signing up for an account to the finishing the video you see below. I recommend it highly and encourage you to give it a try!

The screencast I created is a demo of the social media tools I use on a daily basis with the specific purpose of interacting with the CME community. There’s nothing mind-blowing here – just an overview of the “Big 4” of social media: Linkedin, Twitter, Facebook, blogs. If you’re a CME professional and new to the world of social media, watching this video might be a good place to start. (FYI: I realized about halfway through that my free Screenr account limited me to a 5 minute recording, which is why I had to speed through things towards the end.)

4 responses to “Social Media Resources For The CME Community

  1. Cool! I hadn’t heard of this one before. Thanks for taking it for a test-drive–sounds really easy to use, too.

  2. Screenr is fantastic. It’s been around for a while and is made by the same company that makes Articulate rapid elearning software. Looks like you’ll be making good use of it.

    I’m a big fan of social media for learning as well.

  3. That was a good recap and nice use of the screenr tool.

    Do you only use TweetDeck in Chrome or do you use the app too? How do you feel about the new blue tweetdeck vs the old yellow tweetdeck?

    I am finding the new blue tweetdeck (built by twitter themselves) lacking in many features of the old one. In fact, the lack of some of those tools has reduced my Twitter engagement so I have been experimenting around with others in the space like Seesmic and HootSuite with no real winner in my mind yet.

    I’d be curious to know your thoughts and any readers thoughts on this topic/tool discussion.

    Thanks for putting this together.

    • Thanks, Cheyenne. Initially I used the TweetDeck app, but I was using it on a company-owned, slow and creaky laptop. I switched over to the Chrome version because it was lighter and it gave my machine less problems. I still use it now even though I’m on a new MacBook.

      This biggest issue I had when Twitter took over TD was when they got rid of the “RT” and forced you to “quote” a tweet if you wanted to add commentary. For some reason, Twitter seems to hate RT’s. I don’t know anyone who prefers the quote over the RT and I think it makes a tweet harder to read. They finally released another version which now lets you “Edit and RT”, so I’m happier.

      I’ve tried other Twitter clients, like HootSuite, but TD is still the clear winner to me because of the tweet streaming. I much prefer to have my tweets streamed than to have to constantly refresh. It makes an enormous difference when following a conference hashtag or participating in a chat. For mobile use, I’m a big fan of Tweetbot.

Leave a comment