Thoughts From the First Day of #AMACME

I’m worn out from the first day at the 22nd Annual Conference of the National Task Force on CME Provider/Industry Collaboration (geez that’s a long name; I’m using the hashtag #amacme from now on), so I’m going to make this short and sweet.

One of the main themes that stood out to me this morning was that of “perspective”. We, the CME community live in a world where perspective is king. We do things out of fear of how we’ll be perceived and we don’t do things for the very same reason. We are guided by the fear of what others will think.

And I’m tired of it.

When do we start to fight back against it? When do we start to say, I don’t care how this looks to the outside public, I believe I have a strong educational program that is compliant with all regulations and I’m going to do it. Why can’t you have a CME-certified activity and a non-certified activity held back-to-back, if it’s part of your educational strategy? Why does public perception that this might be “shady” get to override the concept that it’s the best format for educating the target audience?

I’ve battled against public perception most of my life. I’m 6’3″, 200+ lbs, athletic, have a poor speaking voice and pretty nicely fall into the “dumb jock” category (don’t believe me? Ask my wife what her first impression was of me). I wasn’t supposed to be the smart guy who studied a lot, enjoyed classic literature, and cried way too easily (er…forget I said that last one.) That was the public perception of who I was and I fought against it. My instinct is to fight against the public perception of CME and not let that color what I think is right. Hopefully that’s something we can all work on together as a community.

One response to “Thoughts From the First Day of #AMACME

  1. Pingback: Task Force Day 1: Keynote address | Capsules

Leave a Reply

